top of page
Writer's pictureEmily

Morning Prayers & the Importance of a Morning Offering

Updated: Jul 8, 2023


"The greater part of men every morning commit sin by silence, in not opening their lips to honor God by prayer. They rise from their bed like dumb animals. It is a sin of omission not to give thanks to God for the night that has passed, not to worship Him with our first thoughts as our Creator, our Father, and final end, and not to beseech Him to bestow upon us the grace to glorify Him by our conduct during the day." -Fr. Francis Xavier Weninger


"We must take great care never to do anything before having said our morning prayers... The devil once declared that if he could have the first moment of the day, he was sure of all the rest." - St. John Vianney


THE IMPORTANCE OF A MORNING OFFERING: When we pray the morning offering at the start of our day, we offer all of our thoughts, words, actions and sufferings to God. In that moment, we are actively giving ourselves and our whole day to God. When our morning prayer is finished and we go about our day, our mind will begin to think of our duty and the tasks ahead. Although we are no longer actively thinking about offering our thoughts and actions to God, the virtual intention is still there.




Morning Prayer

"I love them that love Me: And they that in the morning early watch for Me, shall find Me."

"For to Thee will I pray; O Lord, in the morning Thou shalt hear my voice."

"In the morning, I will stand before Thee, and I will look up to Thee."


• O great God, the sovereign Lord of heaven and earth, I prostrate myself before Thee. With all the angels and saints, I adore Thee, I acknowledge Thee to be my Creator and sovereign Lord, my first beginning and my last end. I render to Thee the homage of my being and my life. I submit myself to Thy holy will and I devote myself to Thy divine service this day and forever.


• Almighty Lord and God, who has brought us to the beginning of this day, let Thy powerful grace so conduct us through it that we may not fall into any sin, but that all our thoughts, words, and actions may be regulated according to the rules of Thy heavenly justice and tend to the observance of Thy holy law.


• O Lord God, King of Heaven and earth, may it please Thee this day to order and to hallow, to rule and to govern our hearts and our bodies, our thoughts, our words and our works, according to Thy law and in the doing of Thy commandments, that we, being helped by Thee, may here and hereafter worthily be saved and delivered by Thee, O Savior of the world, who livest and reignest for ever and ever. Amen.


• May every thought, word, and act of mine tend to God's greater glory, to the sanctification of my own soul, and to the good of those around me. May the holy faith which ever illumines my mind shine forth in all my actions before the world to the glory of Thy name.


• I wish to know, I wish to see, what Thou desirest of me, and I will try with all my heart, regardless of obstacles, to accomplish it.


Ask God for Necessary Graces O my God, Thou knowest my weakness, and that I am unable to do anything good without Thee; deny me not, O God, the help of Thy grace; proportion it to my necessities, give me strength to avoid anything evil which Thou forbids, and to practice the good which Thou hast commanded, and enable me to bear patiently all the trials which it may please Thee to send me.


Morning Offering O Jesus, through the most pure heart of Mary, I offer You all my prayers, works, joys and sufferings of this day, for all the intentions of Your Sacred Heart, in union with the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass throughout the world, in reparation for my sins, and in particular for the intentions of the Holy Father the Pope. Amen.


Morning Offering II I offer to Thee, O Lord, my whole being, and in particular all my thoughts, words, actions and sufferings of this day. I consecrate them all to the glory of Thy name, beseeching Thee that through the infinite merits of Jesus Christ my Savior they may all find acceptance in Thy sight. May Thy divine love animate them and may they tend to Thy greater glory.

Morning Offering of St. Francis de Sales My God, I give You this day. I offer You now all the good that I shall do and I promise to accept for love of You all the difficulty that I shall meet. Help me to conduct myself during this day in a manner pleasing to You. Amen.


Take, Lord, and Receive (St. Ignatius of Loyola)

Take, Lord, and receive all my liberty, my memory, my understanding, and my entire will, all that I have and possess. Thou hast given all to me. To Thee, O Lord, I return it. All is Thine, dispose of it wholly according to Thy will. Give me Thy love and Thy grace, for this is sufficient for me.

Prayer of St. Teresa of Avila

At this moment, O Lord, I freely consecrate my will to You without reserve. Grant that Your will may be always fulfilled in me, in the way which is most pleasing to You.

Prayer for God's Protection (St. Patrick's Breastplate) As I arise today, may the strength of God pilot me, the power of God uphold me, the wisdom of God guide me. May the eye of God look before me, the ear of God hear me, the Word of God speak for me. May the hand of God protect me, the way of God lie before me, the shield of God defend me, the host of God save me. May Christ shield me today... Christ before me, Christ behind me, Christ in me, Christ beneath me, Christ above me, Christ on my right, Christ on my left, Christ when I lie down, Christ when I sit, Christ when I stand, Christ in the heart of everyone who thinks of me, Christ in the mouth of everyone who speaks of me, Christ in every eye that sees me, Christ in every ear that hears me. Amen.


May Your will be my will (St. Thomas Aquinas) May Your will be my will, my passion, my honor! Grant that I may seek it, find it, and accomplish it. Show me Your ways, point out Your paths. O Father, You have your designs over me, show them to me clearly and grant that I may follow them, so as to obtain the salvation of my soul. Apart from You, may every joy be bitter to me. May I have no desire but to rest in You.

Consecration of the Senses

Lord, I renew with all of my heart the consecration of my sense to You. I consecrate to You my eyes, that they may seek only Your face and the things that lead to You; I consecrate to You my tongue, that it may be worthy to sing Your priases and may never utter a word displeasing to You; I consecrate to You my ears, that they may listen to Your voice alone and hear only what is necessary for Your service; I consecrate to You my sense of smell, of taste, of touch, that they may take delight in You alone.



666 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page