top of page
Writer's pictureEmily

Night Prayers & The Importance of a Nightly Examination of Conscience

Updated: Jul 8, 2023



The Importance of a Nightly Examination of Conscience:

"At night, before you go to sleep, you must examine your conscience, inquiring into your thoughts, words, and deeds of the whole day, and also whether you have left out anything of what you ought to have done." - St. Francis Xavier


A daily examination of conscience and act of contrition with regard to our whole conduct throughout the day, and in particular with regard to our predominate vice and the virtue we most want to acquire, are the most important part of your evening prayers.

  • It is one of the most important duties of the Christian life.

  • It is strongly recommended by all spiritual writers.

  • It is the most profitable exercise we can apply to ourselves for avoiding sin and acquiring virtue.

  • It is a looking glass in which we see ourselves in our true colors and come to the knowledge of our sins and evil inclinations.

  • It is a sponge by which we wipe away guilt from our souls and become the more pure before God the more diligently we practice it.

  • If we do not daily weed the garden of our souls by this holy exercise, the corrupt ground of the heart will naturally produce vices and imperfections in abundance.


St Jerome instructed his disciples to examine themselves every day on three points: (1) What have I done? (2) How have I done it? (3) What have I omitted that I ought to have done?


Night Prayers:


Act of Adoration:

Almighty and eternal God, I adore Thee, and I thank Thee for all the benefits I have received this day through Thy infinite mercy Give me light to know my faults and grant me grace to be truly sorry for my sins.


Examination of Conscience: Now examine yourself what sins you have committed this day, by thought, word, deed, or omission.


Then pray an Act of Contrition: O my God, I am heartily sorry for having offended Thee, and I detest all of my sins, because I dread the loss of heaven and the pains of hell, but most of all because they offend Thee, my God, Who art all good, , and deserving of all love, I firmly resolve with the help of Thy grace to confess my sins, to do penance, and to amend my life. Amen.



Prayers for the Faithful Departed: Have mercy, O Lord, have mercy on the poor souls in purgatory. V. Eternal rest give unto them, O Lord;

R. And let perpetual light shine upon them! V. May they rest in peace. R. Amen. V. O Lord, hear my prayer. R. And let my cry come unto Thee! Let us pray: O God, the Creator and Redeemer of all the faithful, grant to the souls of Thy servants departed the remission of all their sins: that through pious supplication they may obtain pardon which they have always desired, Who livest and reignest world without end. Amen.



Prayer for a Happy Death: God, Who hast doomed all men to die, but hast concealed from all the hour of their death, grant that I may pass my days in the practice of holiness and justice, and that I may deserve to quit this world in the peace of a good conscience and in the embraces of Thy love. Through the same Christ our Lord. Amen.



Prayer for Protection during the Night:

O Angel of God, to whose holy care I am committed by the divine Mercy: enlighten, defend and protect me this night from all sin and danger. Amen.


God the Father, bless us. Jesus Christ, defend and keep us. The virtue of the Holy Ghost, enlighten and sanctify us this night and forever. May the souls of the faithful departed rest in peace. Amen.


Bless, O Lord, the repose I am going to take in order to renew my strength, that I may be better able to serve Thee.


O all ye saints and angels, but chiefly thou, O Mother of God, intercede for me this night and for the rest of my life, but particularly at the hour of my death.


May the Divine Assistance remain always with us. Amen.



Visit, we beseech Thee, O Lord: Visit, we beseech Thee, O Lord this habitation, and drive far from it all the snares of the enemy. Let Thy holy angels dwell herein to preserve us in peace; and may Thy blessing be upon us forever, through Christ our Lord. Amen.


V. O Lord, hear my prayer. R. And let my cry come unto Thee. V. Let us bless the Lord. R. Thanks be to God. May the Almighty and merciful Lord, Father, Son and Holy Ghost, bless and preserve us. Amen. Sprinkle your bed with holy water and, blessing yourself, when you lie down to rest: Lord, into Thy hands I commend my spirit.



Hymn: Before the light comes to an end, Creator of the world, we pray, That, of Thy mercy, Thou wilt lend - Thine arm to be our strength and stay.


All evil dreams far from us keep, And phantoms of the night restraight; Curb thou our foe, that we may sleep, Our bodies free from every stain. O loving Father, hear our cry, And Thou, the Father's only Son, With Whom the Spirit reigns on high, Eternal, equal, Three in One. Amen.



167 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentarze


bottom of page