top of page
Writer's pictureEmily

Quotes on Resignation to God's Will

Updated: Jul 7, 2023


"The only road that takes us to our eternal home is that of the will of God." - Fr. Gabriel

How can I conform to God's will when I desire and love things that God does not desire and love?


The greatest comfort at death is to be able to say with Jesus: "Father, I have finished the work Thou gavest me to do."



St. John of the Cross: “God has to work in the soul in secret and in darkness because if we fully knew what was happening and what mystery, transformation, God and grace will eventually ask of us, we would either try to take charge or stop the whole process.” St. Thèrése of Lisieux:

“Now abandonment alone guides me, I have no other compass! I can no longer ask for anything with fervor except the accomplishment of God’s will in my soul.”


"I fear only one thing---to keep my own will; take it, my God, for I choose all that You choose."

St. Benedict:

"As for self-will, we are forbidden to carry it out, for Scripture says: beware of your own desires. And so we ask God in prayer that His will be accomplished in us." St. John Henry Newman

"Learn to do thy part and leave the rest to Heaven." "Teach me how to employ myself most profitably, most to Thy glory, in such years as remain to me."


“Whatever, wherever I am, I can never be thrown away. If I am in sickness, my sickness may serve Him; If I am in sorrow, my sorrow may serve Him... He does nothing in vain; He may prolong my life, He may shorten it; He knows what He is about. He may take away my friends, He may throw me to strangers, He may make me feel desolate, make my spirits sink, hide the future from me; still He knows what He is about.” Ven. Fulton J. Sheen

"We always make the fatal mistake of thinking that it is what we do that matters... when really, what matters is what we let God do with us." St. Julie Billiart

"My prayer is that the good God may establish His absolute reign in your heart and in the hearts of all." St. Cajetan

"Do not , my child, approach Jesus Christ with the hope of bending his will to yours; what I desire is that you yield yourself to him and that he receive you, so that he, your Savior, may do with you and in you whatever he pleases."


Bl. Edward Poppe: "Being holy is nothing more than accomplishing the Lord's holy will in everything." Fr. Jaques Philippe:

"Often, we cause ourselves to become agitated and disturbed by trying to resolve everything by ourselves, when it would be more efficacious to remain peacefully before the gaze of God and to allow Him to act and work in us with His wisdom and power, which are infinitely superior to ours." St. Catherine of Siena

“O God: Your high, eternal will desires only our sanctification; therefore, a soul who desires to sanctify itself strips itself of its own will and clothes itself with Yours. I think this is the true sign of those who have been grafted onto You; they fulfill Your will according to Your pleasure and not according to their own, so that they become clothed in Your will.”


“Turn over the rudder in God's name, and sail with the wind heaven sends us.” St. Gabriel of the Sorrowful Mother

"I will attempt day by day to break my will into pieces. I want to do God's holy will, not my own." Fr. Gabriel

"To become saints we must have total conformity of our will with God's. It is necessary, then, that there should be nothing in our soul which is not in harmony with the divine will and that our actions be motivated by his will alone."


"To follow God's will under the direction of the Holy Spirit is the quickest and safest way of reaching our heavenly home."


"The way to sanctity mut be our Father's will. We must be nourished by this will; we must feed on it every moment; we must seek it and desire to live on it alone; we must make it the one great motive of all our actions."

St. Josephine Bakhita

"The best thing for us is not what we consider best, but what the Lord wants of us."

Bl. Almo Taparelli

"Our salvation solely consists in serving God. All else is deceit."

Fr. Paolo Segneri (d. 1694):

“Dost thou wish to advance in such a manner that all thy works, which are the footsteps of the soul, may lead direct to Heaven? Give thyself up to the sole guidance and sole impulse of the Holy Spirit."

St. Francis de Sales

"Let yourself be governed by God. Do not think so much of yourself."


"Let us be what God wishes, since we are entirely devoted to Him, and would not wish to be anything contrary to His will; for were we the most exalted creatures under the heaven, of what use would it be to us, if we were not in accord with the will of God?"

St. Elizabeth Ann Seton

"The first end I propose in our daily work is to do the will of God; secondly, to do it in the manner He wills it; and thirdly, to do it because it is His will."

St. Clement Hofbauer

"The best way to become a saint is to plunge ourselves in the will of God, as a stone is immersed in the water. We must allow ourselves to be tossed like a ball here and there, according to His good pleasure."

Ven. Mother Luisita, OCD

"Live happiy wherever God our Lord places you, without thinking you would be better off somewhere else."

My Beloved: The Story of a Carmelite Nun:

"What a pity that people take so long to discover this fundamental principle of the spiritual life! Even though the answer to our plea and to our prayer may be, 'No,' we must learn that God's 'No' is always the best for us - at least the best thing for our spiritual and eternal welfare, about which God is primarily concerned. He knows and sees everything and all the ramifications of each thing, and He is our loving Father; we see only a bit about a few things, and we are but children."


St. Teresa of Avila

“Whoever makes a habit of prayer should only think of doing everything to conform his will to God’s. Be assured that in this conformity consists the highest perfection that we can attain, and those who practice it with the greatest care will be favored with God’s greatest gift and will make the quickest progress in the interior life. Do not imagine that there are other secrets. All our good consists in this.”


"My God, I want nothing but Your will; submission to it has such power over me that my soul desires neither death nor life. But then, if such be Your will, I desire to live, in order to serve You better."


"It is presumptious of me to wish to choose my path, because I cannot tell which path is best for me. I must leave it to the Lord, Who knows me, to lead me by the path which is best for me, so that in all things, His will may be done."

Imitation of Christ, Book 3, 15:2

“Lord, You know what is best; let this or that be done as You will. Give what You will, as much as You will, and when You will. Do with me as You know best, as will most please You, and will be for Your greater honor. Put me where You will and do with me in all things according to Your will. I am your servant, ready to obey You in all things; for I do not desire to live by myself, but for You.”

St. John Bosco:

“Let’s go on as we have done so far and leave everything in God’s hands. He will let us know when to change course.”

St. Rose Philippine Duchesne:

“I am where God wills me to be, and so I have found rest and security. His wisdom governs me, His power defends me, His grace sanctifies me, His mercy encompasses me, His joy sustains me, and all will go well with me.”

St. Augustine:

“Henceforth, O Lord, it is You alone whom I love, follow, seek, and serve; You alone have the right to command, and to You alone do I wish to be subject. Command, I beg You, and demand of me anything You wish; heal and open my ears, that I may hear Your commands; cure and open my eyes that I may see the signs of Your will; take away my fullness that I may be able to contemplate You, and thus, I hope to accomplish faithfully whatever You ask of me.”

Bl. Bartolo Longo:

"I place myself, O God, in Your hands. As a son, I abandon myself to Your fatherly embrace. Roll and roll again this mud; it has nothing to say, it is enough that it serve Your designs and not resist Your will for which I was made."


Padre Pio: "Give to God the remaining years of your life. Beg God t use them in the kind of life that is pleasing to Him."

St. Alphonsus Ligouri:

"To do God's will: this was the goal upon which the saints constantly fixed their gaze. They were fully presuaded that in the consists in the entire perfection of the soul. The greatest glory we can give to God is to do His will in everything."


"The essence of perfection is to embrace the will of God in all things, prosperous or adverse."


Bl. Pier Giorgio Frassati:

"If that is how God wants it, His holy will be done."

Life must be lived according to the eternal and unalterable plans of the Almighty.


Lord, if it is not Your will, let it slip through my grasp and give me the peace not to worry about it.




12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page