top of page
Writer's pictureEmily

Prayer to Guardian Angel



Prayer to One's Angel Guardian


MOST faithful companion, appointed by God to be my guardian, my protector and defender, and who never leavest my side; how shall I thank thee for thy faithfulness and love, and for the benefits which thou hast conferred upon me? Thou watchest over me while I sleep; thou comfortest me when I am sad; thou liftest me up when I am down; thou avertest the dangers that threaten me; thou warnest me of those that are to come; thou withdrawest me from sin, and excitest me to good; thou exhortest me to penance when I fall, and reconcilest me to God. Long ago should I have been thrust down into hell, unless by thy prayers thou hadst turned away from me the anger of God. Leave me not, nor forsake me ever, I beseech thee; but still comfort me in adversity, restrain me in prosperity, defend me in danger, assist me in temptations, lest at any time I fall beneath them. Offer up in the sight of the Divine Majesty my prayers and petitions, and all my works of piety, and help me to persevere in grace, until I come to everlasting life. Amen.





Litany of the Angel Guardian (for private devotions only)


Lord, have mercy on us.

Christ, have mercy on us.

Lord, have mercy on us.

Christ, hear us.

Christ, graciously hear us.

God, the Father of Heaven, have mercy on us.

God, the Son, Redeemer of the world, have mercy on us.

God, the Holy Ghost, have mercy on us.

Holy Trinity, One God, have mercy on us.

Holy Mary, Queen of Angels, pray for us. Holy Angel, my prince, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my monitor, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my counselor, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my defender, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my steward, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my friend, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my negotiator, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my intercessor, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my patron, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my director pray for us.

Holy Angel, my ruler pray for us.

Holy Angel, my protector, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my comforter, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my brother, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my teacher, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my shepherd, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my witness, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my helper, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my watcher, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my conductor, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my preserver, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my instructor, pray for us.

Holy Angel, my enlightener, pray for us.


Lamb of God, who takest away the sins of the world, spare us, O Lord!

Lamb of God, who takest away the sins of the world, hear us, O Lord!

Lamb of God who takest away the sins of the world, have mercy on us, O Lord!

Christ, hear us.

Christ, graciously hear us.

V. Pray for us, O Holy Angel Guardian,

R. That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.


Let us pray: Almighty and everlasting God, who in the counsel of Thy ineffable goodness hast appointed to all the faithful, from their mother's womb, a special Angel Guardian of their body and soul, grant that I may so love and honor him whom Thou hast so mercifully given me, that protected by the bounty of Thy grace, and by his assistance, I may merit to behold, with him and the angelic host, the glory of Thy countenance in the heavenly country. Who livest and reignest, world without end. Amen.





130 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page