top of page
Writer's pictureEmily

Book and Art Resources




BOOK LISTS 1. Amazon


I have created an Amazon Storefront as an easy place to list and organize book titles. These titles can be ordered from Amazon, or you can search them out directly from the publisher if you don't want to financially support Amazon.



Please note that there is a section titled "Inexpensive Kindle Books," which is exactly that. There are many great titles available for free, or anywhere from $1 - $3, if you are able to read on a device (I know some people prefer to read a physical book, but sometimes a digital form is a more affordable option.)


2. Archive.org


Archive.org has many, many old Catholic books that are in the public domain and thus free to read (and share) online. There is almost no book you can't find on there. I usually have the best results finding books by searching for the author's name.


I have some lists saved where you can find many of my favorite books-- when you open this link, it will open to the writings of St. Elizabeth of the Trinity, because that was the first list I ever made, but there is a menu on the left side of the screen where you can open other lists. Some are organized by author (like St. Alphonsus Ligouri or St. Francis de Sales) and others are organized by topic (like Christian Perfection or Prayer) ARCHIVE BOOK LIST: https://archive.org/details/@poor_in_spirit/lists


Here are specific links to some of my favorite and most-sourced books:




ART


PINTEREST


I try to save most of the art that I use in my graphics onto my pinterest account, and I try to keep them fairly well-organized.


PINTEREST:


WIKI COMMONS


I get asked this question a lot, and I have walked a few people through this, but the main source of artwork for my graphics is Wiki Commons.


Open a search engine and search something like: "wikicommons paintings of St. Peter." After that, I highly recommend clicking "paintings by century," and then sifting through each century to find a particular image that you like. When you click on the image, it will tell you all the details of the paintings-- the title, who painted it, in what country, and what year. It will also tell you if the image is in the public domain or if there is a license to use it (most are free to use, but some have conditions for use).


You can do this with any saint, but also almost anything... for example, "wikicommons paintings of the transfiguration" or "wikicommons paintings of the miracles of Jesus."

113 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page